The Heisei era is ending soon and Japan will enter a new era as a new Emperor takes the Chrysanthemum Throne, with the abdication of Emperor Akihito. The Heisei Anisong Grand Prix decided what anime theme songs best encompass the last 30 years.


The project gathered a panel of six judges: music producer Akihiro Tomita, Nippon broadcasting announcer Hisanori Yoshida, Animelo concert producer Koji Saito, anime song disc jockey DJ Kazu, anime writer MaeQ, and Animate’s Masaharu Matsubara. The judges divided the era by decade and selected three winners each from 11 categories: Popularity Award, Song Lyrics Award, Composition Award, Arrangement Award, Voice Actor/Actress Song Award, Character Song Award, Artist Song Award, Planning Award, Movie Theme Song Award, Special Prize, and Audience Choice Award.

Neon Geneis Evangelion‘s “A Cruel Angel’s Thesis” and UFO Ultramaiden Valkryie‘s “Agape” won the overall Heisei Anisong awards.

Turn-A Gundam’s “Turn A Turn” by Hideki Saijou  with  lyrics by Rin Iogi won the Song Lyrics Award for 1989-1999.


New Mobile Report Gundam Wing‘s “JUST COMMUNICATION” by TWO-MIX won the Voice Actor/Actress Song Award for 1989-1999.


Hiroko Moriguchi’s “Eternal Wind ~ Hohoemi wa Hikaru Kaze no Naka” from Mobile Suit Gundam F91 won the 1989-1999 Movie Theme Song Award.


And T.M. Revolution’s “INVOKE” from Mobile Suit Gundam SEED won the Performance Award for 2000-2009.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *